

Basketball Coaches Association of New York, Inc.

Dave Archer Executive Director 524 Dickson Street Endicott, New York 13760 (607) 785-7032 cell (607) 341-6650

For Immediate Release March 17, 2020

BCANY Names 2020 Mr New York Basketball

R.J. Davis from Archbishop Stepinac HS

R.J. Davis from Archbishop Stepinac HS. White Plains, NY is named the recipient of the 2020 "Mr. New York Basketball" Award by the Basketball Coaches Association of New York, Inc. Davis was selected at the end of a two part process: (1) voting by BCANY and media members and (2) BCANY Committee deliberations.

The **Mr. New York Basketball** award is presented by the Basketball Coaches Association of New York, Inc, which consists of basketball coaches at the scholastic and collegiate levels from throughout the entire state. The Mr. Basketball Award is widely viewed as the top award that a high school basketball player in New York State can receive.

R.J. Davis: 6'1" Point Guard from Archbishop Stepinac HS

- *ranked 39th overall (#8 PG Nationally, #1 overall in NYS) in the ESPN100 2020 rankings.
- *ranked 53rd overall (#8 PG Nationally, #1 overall in NYS) in the 247Sports 2020 rankings.
- Named a 2020 McDonald's All-American and was selected to participate in the 43rd McDonald's All-American game.
- Named a 2020 Jordan Brand National Boys team All-Star and was selected to participate in the 19th Jordan Brand Classic game.

(Signed with University of North Carolina)

Previous Mr. New York Basketball Award Winners:

- 2019 Joseph Girard III, from Glens Falls HS
- 2018 Savion Lewis- Half Hollow Hills East HS
- 2017 Isaiah Washington, St. Raymond's HS
- 2016 Kevin Huerter Shenendehowa HS,
- 2015 Matt Ryan (Iona Prep)
- 2014 Isaiah Whitehead of Lincoln HS

- 2013 Jon Severe (Christ the King HS)
- 2012 Dajuan Coleman (Jamesville-Dewitt High School)
- 2011 Co- Jabarie Hinds (Mount Vernon HS)
- 2011 Co- Achraf Yacoubou (Long Island Lutheran HS)
- 2010 Tobias Harris (Half Hollow Hills West HS)
- 2009Co- Lance Stephenson (Lincoln HS)
- 2009Co- Brandon Triche (Jamesville-DeWitt HS)
- 2008 Sylven Landesberg (Holy Cross HS)
- 2007 Jonathan Flynn (Niagara Falls HS)
- 2006 Jonathan Mitchell (Mt. Vernon HS)
- 2005 Greg Paulus, (Syracuse Christian Brothers Academy)
- 2004 Sebastian Telfair (Abraham Lincoln HS)
- 2003 Tyler Relph (Rochester McQuaid HS)
- 2002 Jason Fraser (Amityville HS)
- 2001 Julius Hodge (St. Raymond's HS)
- 2000 Peter Mulligan (St. Raymond's HS)
- 1999 Leonard Stoke (Buffalo, Turner Carroll HS)
- 1998 Anthony Glover (Rice HS)
- 1997 Elton Brand (Peekskill HS)
- 1996 Willie Dersch (Holy Cross HS)
- 1995 Stephon Marbury (Lincoln HS)
- 1994 Felipe Lopez (Rice HS)
- 1993 Danya Abrams (Hackley School)
- 1992 John Wallace (Greece-Arcadia HS)
- 1991 Terrence Rencher (St. Raymond's HS)
- 1990 Jamal Mashburn (Cardinal Hayes HS)
- 1989 Kenny Anderson (Archbishop Molloy HS)
- 1988 Malik Sealy (Tolentine HS)
- 1987 Co- Greg Koubek (Shenendehowa HS)
- 1987 Co King Rice (Binghamton HS)
- 1986 Keith Robinson (Buffalo Cleveland HS)