Basketball Coaches Association of New York, Inc.

Dave Archer Executive Director 524 Dickson Street Endicott, New York 13760 (607) 785-7032 cell (607) 341-6650 Darcher@stny.rr.com

2023 Mr. New York State Basketball

BCANY Winner of the 2023 Mr. New York Basketball

Brandon Gardner Christ The King, 6'7" PF

Brandon Gardner of Christ The King HS, Middle Village, NY, is named the recipient of the 2023 "Mr. New York Basketball" Award by the Basketball Coaches Association of New York, Inc. Gardner was selected by a BCANY Committee which included high school coaches, members of the media and reputable recruiting service experts.

Gardner will continue his academic and athletic career with St. John's University. He was ranked by 247Sports as the #76 senior nationally and #2 senior in NY State. ESPN #92 ranked 4-star prospect nationally and #2 ranked prospect in the State of NY. Gardner represented USA Basketball in the 2022 FIBA 3x3 U18 World Cup competition in Debrecen, Hungary. He also helped lead USA Basketball to two wins, one over the Dominican Republic and one over Estonia.

The Mr. New York Basketball award is presented by the Basketball Coaches Association of New York, Inc, which consists of basketball coaches at the scholastic and collegiate levels from throughout the entire state. The Mr. Basketball Award is widely viewed as the top award that a high school basketball player in New York State can receive.

Previous winners of the Mr. New York Basketball Award have been:

- 2022- Jaquan Sanders, Our Saviour Lutheran School, Bronx, NY
- 2021- Jordan Riley, Brentwood HS, Brentwood, NY
- 2020 R.J. Davis, Archbishop Stepinac HS. White Plains, NY
- 2019 Joseph Girard III, from Glens Falls HS
- 2018 Savion Lewis- Half Hollow Hills East HS
- 2017 Isaiah Washington, St. Raymond's HS
- 2016 Kevin Huerter Shenendehowa HS,
- 2015 Matt Ryan (Iona Prep)
- 2014 Isaiah Whitehead of Lincoln HS
- 2013 Jon Severe (Christ the King HS)
- 2012 Dajuan Coleman (Jamesville-Dewitt High School)
- 2011 Co- Jabarie Hinds (Mount Vernon HS)
- 2011 Co- Achraf Yacoubou (Long Island Lutheran HS)
- 2010 Tobias Harris (Half Hollow Hills West HS)
- 2009 Co- Lance Stephenson (Lincoln HS)
- 2009 Co- Brandon Triche (Jamesville-DeWitt HS)
- 2008 Sylven Landesberg (Holy Cross HS)
- 2007 Jonathan Flynn (Niagara Falls HS)
- 2006 Jonathan Mitchell (Mt. Vernon HS)
- 2005 Greg Paulus, (Syracuse Christian Brothers Academy)
- 2004 Sebastian Telfair (Abraham Lincoln HS)
- 2003 Tyler Relph (Rochester McQuaid HS)
- 2002 Jason Fraser (Amityville HS)
- 2001 Julius Hodge (St. Raymond's HS)
- 2000 Peter Mulligan (St. Raymond's HS)
- 1999 Leonard Stoke (Buffalo, Turner Carroll HS)
- 1998 Anthony Glover (Rice HS)
- 1997 Elton Brand (Peekskill HS)
- 1996 Willie Dersch (Holy Cross HS)
- 1995 Stephon Marbury (Lincoln HS)
- 1994 Felipe Lopez (Rice HS)
- 1993 Danya Abrams (Hackley School)
- 1992 John Wallace (Greece-Arcadia HS)
- 1991 Terrence Rencher (St. Raymond's HS)
- 1990 Jamal Mashburn (Cardinal Hayes HS)
- 1989 Kenny Anderson (Archbishop Molloy HS)
- 1988 Malik Sealy (Tolentine HS)
- 1987 Co- Greg Koubek (Shenendehowa HS)
- 1987 Co King Rice (Binghamton HS)
- 1986 Keith Robinson (Buffalo Cleveland HS)